## **Ridgeway Lutheran Church**



The Ridgeway Lutheran Church was constructed in 1915 and originally located about 13 miles north of Taylor, ND in Dunn County. The Church is available to rent for weddings and other ceremonies.

The Peoples Society of the Ridgeway Lutheran Church was organized in 1911 at the home of Nels Engebritson for the purpose of raising funds for building a church. Members of the society were pioneers who first settled in the area north of Taylor, North Dakota. They included Iver Engebritson, Henry H. Myran, Andrew Aasgard, Sam Vaagen, John Myran and John Gunwall who all came from Ridgeway, Iowa in 1886-1887 and Erland Paulson from Minnesota who settled first in Taylor in 1884 and later in Ridgeway in 1894. Prior to starting the Ridgeway Lutheran Church,

most of these settlers were members of the Taylor Lutheran Church.

The land of the original church and cemetery site, located about 13 miles north of Taylor, ND in Dunn County, was donated by Sam Vaagen and Iver Engebritson. The cemetery was dedicated on October 12, 1913 and the cornerstone for the Ridgeway Lutheran Church was laid on July 22,1915.



The altar, altar railings and pulpit in the church were all gifts to the Ridgeway Lutheran Church from the Lincoln Congregation in Winneshiek County, Iowa. Many members of the Ridgeway Lutheran Church had been members of that congregation in Iowa prior to moving to North Dakota and had been either baptized, confirmed or married at this altar back in Iowa. The Ridgeway Lutheran Church also received money from the Madison Congregation near Ridgeway, Iowa.

At a church meeting held September 9, 1934, the congregation decided to build a church basement along side the church and to move the church over onto the foundation. The ceremonies of breaking the ground were performed that day by Reverend Waldo Ellickson and the trustees of the church. The cornerstone was laid October 14, 1934.

At the annual meeting held on January 11, 1976, the congregation voted to disband the Ridgeway Congregation and the Ridgeway Cemetery Association was formed. The closing service for the church was held on February 8, 1976. The Ridgeway Cemetery Association donated the church building and contents to the Stark County Historical Society, and the building was moved to Prairie Outpost Park in 1981.

## History of pastors who served the Ridgeway Lutheran Church

- Rev. Thorval H. Larsen 1915 1932
- Rev. James Kaupang 1932 1934
- Rev. Waldo L. Ellickson 1934 1939
- Rev. Earl M. Sletton 1940 1945
- Rev. Emil A. Grefthen 1945 1965
- Various lay pastors 1965 1966
- Rev. Rolf Heng 1966 1976

The Ridgeway Church is available to rent for weddings and other ceremonies.

## A Copy Of The Bulletin From The Last Service Given At The Church. From The Joachim Regional Museum Collection.

RIDGEWAY LUTHERAN CHURCH

Fifth Sunday after Epiphany Feb. 8, 1976

Prelude Opening Prayer Hymn . . . . . No. 421 Canfeesion Kyrie Hymn . . . . . No. 375

Gospel Apostles' Creed Announcements Offering

Greeting - Clarence Dohrmann Greeting - Kernit Perhus Special Music - Paulsons, Vaegens

Greeting - Hans Larsen Greeting - Ingvald Paulson, Jr.

Hymn ..... No.459 THE SERMON

Hymn . . . . . . . . No. 168

Benediction Three-fold Amen

Hymn . . . . . . . . No. 543

The Ridgeway Congregation was organized in 1911 by pioneer farmers many of whom concerves Rise May, Dows, and Winnesiek Domes, In 1913 the Comever was a disconted and in 1915 the durch building was completed and dedicaded. The Ridgeway Ladies Aid, which has since become the ALCM, was organized in 1928. A full basement with cooking and dining facilities was completed in 1930. Ridgeway celebaated its 50th Baniversary in 1965. Commencative plates were made, the cornerstone was openeed and its contents brought up to date, the church was rededicated and a program was presented by grandchidrem of the congregation's churce ambeer.

At its 1976 annual meeting the congregation voted to close the church on a one year trial basis.

Pastors who have served the Ridgeway Congregation are:

Th. M. Larsen, 1915-1932 Waldo Elláckson, 1932 and 1934-1939 Janes Kuupao, 1932-1934 Earl Sletten, 1940-1945 Gail Grefthan, 1945-1945 Rolf Heng, L966-

You are invted to enjoy coffee and a time of fellowship following this afternoon's service.

## The Church Being Moved From Taylor To Prairie





View Slideshow